The Tropical North Queensland Innovation Awards (TNQiA) recognise businesses of any size, including subsidiaries and divisions of multi-national businesses, government departments, agencies and local government bodies, not for profit and community businesses who are located in Tropical North Queensland.

All entries to the TNQiA awards must:

  • be a business, Government entity, educational institute, incorporated business, not for profit business, individual or other;
  • be located in the Tropical North Queensland area, comprising all local government areas from Cassowary Coast to the Torres Strait, including:
    • Aurukun Shire 
    • Burke Shire
    • Cairns Regional Council
    • Carpentaria Shire
    • Cassowary Coast Regional Council
    • Cook Shire
    • Croydon Shire
    • Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire
    • Douglas Shire
    • Etheridge Shire
    • Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire 
    • Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire 
    • Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire 
    • Mapoon Aboriginal Shire
    • Mareeba Shire 
    • Mornington Shire
    • Napranum Aboriginal Shire
    • Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council
    • Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire 
    • Tablelands Regional Council
    • Torres Shire
    • Torres Strait Island Regional Council
    • Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire 
    • Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire
  • if requested agree to be available for a selection interview with judges and/or to provide further information to clarify the eligibility or evidence that the innovation is viable;
  • agree to be named and mentioned in subsequent media releases;
  • be available for media and public relations opportunities to assist the promotion of the Awards in the following year;
  • provide evidence if required that any designs cited are the original work of the entrant, and does not infringe on any current patents; and
  • be submitted via the online registration process.


  • Judges and Members of the Steering Committee are not eligible to enter;
  • Applicants can enter as many products and processes as they would like but only one per submission; and
  • Patent searches may be conducted on applications submitted.